Dunn Young Music For The Williamson TunnelsA collection of the sound of Dripping water.
Artists Alan Dunn and Jeff Young have put together this audio Collection in response to the strange follies that are Liverpool’s Williamson Tunnels, where dripping water can be heard but rarely seen.

The double-CD set explores artists’ uses of the sound of dripping water from 1916 to the present, and combines works of historical importance with newly composed pieces. Produced in a limited edition of 1,000, the Collection will be given away free of charge, primarily to Tunnel visitors.

Contributors to the Collection include John Cage, Scanner, Kaffe Matthews, Jem Finer, George Brecht, VOID OV VOID, Susan Collins, Sneha Solanki, Roger McKinley, Hugh Le Caine, Guillaume Apollinaire and Pauline Oliveros’ Deep Listening Band. Dunn and Young have collaborated on a series of audio projects since 2003 exploring specific places in the UK, including SuperBlock, Soundtrack For A Mersey Tunnel, Arnold Circus, Bold Street and 36 Compositions For A Woolton Jukebox. Young has written extensively for BBC Radio 3 and is currently screen writing for Eastenders and developing his stage version of Quadrophenia in collaboration with Pete Townshend. 

Dunn was lead artist with tenantspin at FACT between 2001-7, currently lectures in Contemporary Art at Leeds Metropolitan University and since 1991 has developed and commissioned new works with Douglas Gordon, Bill Drummond, Fiona Banner, Erwin Wurm, Foreign Investment, Will Self and Philip Jeck. 
The Collection can be obtained by email or by visiting the ‘EdgeCentrics’ exhibition at the Williamson Tunnels, curated by Jolanta Jagiello, which runs from 16 September – 19 October 2008.

Read about Alan's last CD - Tour of the Mersey Tunnels

More information is available from Alan Dunn Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 
Web:  http://www.alandunn67.co.uk/musicforthewilliamsontunnels.html 


Please Log in